Cut out?

Ask questions on content creation or share your own custom content.

Cut out?

Postby Kalyfe » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:32 pm

Hello! I'm pretty new to all this, so sorry if this is obvious. I finished designing one of my characters on the SAI Paint Tool, but for some reason I can't get rid of the canvas surrounding it (not completely, I mean). :( I have tried a few different applications, but it will never just let me completely cut the sarrounding canvas off . . .
Can anyone please help?
Kalyfe

Re: Cut out?

Postby fleet » Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:03 pm

The information at this link might be useful.

http://www.visualnovelty.com/docs/cc_transparency.html
Why? I like big ones, that's why.
fleet

Postby Kalyfe » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:07 pm

Thank you! Though I'm afraid I'm still a little confused... Is there anyone that uses the SAI Paint Tool that could tell me how they do it? :oops:
Kalyfe

Postby Avaible » Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:20 pm

When saving your image as png in Sai, the program should ask you how to handle the colour channels: You should have two options, either RGB24 or ARGB32 - select the latter.
If you don't have those options, try updating your version of Sai. Though, until recently I've used an older version and it still worked even without aforementioned selection.
Avaible

Postby Kalyfe » Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:15 pm

Thanks, hopefully this works!
Kalyfe

Postby Kalyfe » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:25 pm

Hmmm, so I saved it as the png, and selected the option you said, but how do I make the canvas transparent from there? (Sorry! ><)
Kalyfe

Postby Avaible » Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:09 pm